The governments of Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda have agreed to build two oil pipelines through the three East African nations.

The first oil pipeline will start from South Sudan to the port city of Lamu in Kenya, while the second one will run from Rwanda to Mombasa in Kenya.

South Sudan currently exports oil via Sudan and the supplies are frequently disrupted as the two nations often disagree on the pricing and security terms, reported BBC.

Last week, Sudan’s president once again threatened South Sudan to suspend oil flow over the issue of supporting rebels.

With the new pipelines, South Sudan is expected to have an alternative to export its oil.

As per the agreement between the three countries, Uganda will be responsible for developing oil refinery and Kenya will spearhead the construction of oil pipelines.