The governments of New South Wales and South Australia have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to facilitate uranium mining and exploration along their borders.

The agreement was signed during a uranium mining conference in Darwin, in the Australian state of Northern Territory.

Commenting on the agreement, New South Wales Resources Minister Chris Hartcher stated that the move from the two state governments would simplify the uranium mining going forward, according to ABC News.

"It’s not going to happen tomorrow but we want to lay the groundwork at a government level to actually get the cooperative agreement that everyone would expect," added Hartcher.

The agreement does not allow uranium mining in New South Wales, but only permits exploration operations in the state.

However, Hartcher claimed that if commercially viable deposits are identified and they can be operated without any environmental impacts, the companies could apply for permission with the government.