India's federal power ministry has announced that central utilities such as the National Hydro Power Corporation (NHPC), North-Eastern Electric Power Corporation (Neepco), Tehri Hydroelectric Development Corporation and National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) will provide help to individual states in their development of small hydroelectric projects.

The decision was taken at a meeting convened by power minister Suresh Prabhu in early May 2002. Specialised executing agencies for small hydro projects will work with state governments on feasibility studies over the next three months.