Ken Adams has been re-selected as president of the International Hydropower Association (IHA), with six vice presidents also appointed by the board.

Adams has already served a two-year term as IHA president between 2013 and 2015, having been first elected to the IHA Board in 2005. He was re-selected during the first meeting of the IHA’s new board in London.

"It has been a great privilege to serve as IHA’s president," he said. "I am looking forward to continuing leading on IHA’s governance over the next two years, at a time of exciting transition and growth for the hydropower sector.

"The association is working towards ambitious goals for 2020. We will increase our efforts to build consensus and share knowledge on the sustainable development of hydropower worldwide, and support the sector to do business better."

Adams has over 40 years of experience in the Canadian electricity sector, including his previous role as senior vice president for power supply at Manitoba Hydro. He also spent several years on the faculty of engineering at the University of Manitoba.

He was the first chair of both the Wuskwatim Power Limited Partnership and the Keeyask Hydropower Limited Partnership, two hydropower projects managed cooperatively between Manitoba Hydro and First Nation communities.

The following candidates were also appointed by the board as IHA’s vice presidents for the 2015-17 period:

  • Colin Clark, chief technical officer, Brookfield Renewable Energy Group
  • Roger Gill, international consultant
  • Lin Chuxue, executive vice president, China Three Gorges Corporation
  • Roland Münch, chairman, Hydro Equipment Association
  • Gil Maranhão Neto, director of business development, Engie
  • Torstein Dale Sjøtveit, CEO, Sarawak Energy Berhad

The new Board met for the first time 22-23 September, after being elected by members earlier in 2015.

The meeting includes discussion on the strategy, priorities and work programme of the association for the next two years, as well as the strategic goals for 2020.

The new president and vice presidents will lead the IHA Board for a two-year term, until September 2017.