The International Hydropower Association (IHA) has announced the results of the 2017-2019 IHA Board elections. 

The elected candidates who will form the IHA Board for the period up to September 2019 are listed below, according to the regions they represent.


  • Mr Moisés Machava – executive director, Hidroelétrica de Cahora Bassa
  • Mr Segomoco Scheppers – senior general manager, Eskom

America – North and Central

  • Mr Ken Adams – independent consultant
  • Ms Christine Cantin – senior advisor, Hydro-Québec
  • Mr Colin Clark – chief technical officer, Brookfield Renewable

America – South

  • Mr Gil Maranhão Neto – chief strategy, communications and CSR officer, Engie Brasil
  • Mr Luiz Fernando Leone Vianna – director general, Brazil, Itaipu Binacional

Asia 1 (south and central)

  • Mr Awadh Giri – founder and CEO, HydrofE3
  • Mr Evgeniy Tikhonov – strategy and development director, EuroSibEnergo JSC

Asia 2 (east and Pacific)

  • Ms Tammy Chu – Entura managing director, Hydro Tasmania
  • Mr Roger Gill – independent consultant
  • Mr Lin Chuxue – executive vice president, China Three Gorges Corporation
  • Mr Sharbini Suhaili – group CEO, Sarawak Energy Berhad


  • Mr Antoine Badinier – deputy vice president, hydropower generation and engineering division, EDF
  • Mr Tron Engebrethsen – senior vice president, Statkraft AS
  • Mr Yves Rannou – president and CEO, GE Renewable Energy
  • Dr Óli Grétar Blöndal Sveinsson – executive vice president, research and development, Landsvirkjun
  • Mr Uwe Wehnhardt – president and CEO, Voith Hydro

The first meeting of the new Board will take place in London on 20-21 September 2017, where the Board will select the president and vice presidents for the 2017-2019 period, and confirm the strategy and priorities for the association over the next two years.