E.ON has revealed plans to introduce a new board structure that it hopes will prepare the ground for an even stronger market focus and future growth.

E.ON’s supervisory board decided that the future board of management will include not only the CEO, the CFO and the chief HR officer but also a COO and a board member in charge of corporate development/new markets.

The new board structure will be effective as of April 1, 2007. At the same time, Hans Michael Gaul will retire from the board.

The new position of the COO will be assumed by Johannes Teyssen. Mr Teyssen will resign from his second function as CEO of E.ON Energie in Munich as of March 31, 2007. In his role as COO, Mr Teyssen will primarily be in charge of managing the company in changing markets and preparing E.ON for the long-term development of an internal energy market within the European Union.

In February 2008, Burckhard Bergmann will leave the E.ON board of management and retire from his position as CEO of E.ON Ruhrgas. This means that the second dual board function will also be terminated at this time. Until then, Mr Bergmann will continue to serve as member of the E.ON board of management responsible for regulation as well as gas production and supply.

Lutz Feldmann has been appointed as the new board member in charge of corporate development/new markets. He will join the board of management as of December 1, 2006. His primary responsibilities will be the group’s strategic growth and the integration of new companies.

The new CFO appointed by the supervisory board effective December 1, 2006, will be Marcus Schenck.