The second 800MW supercritical unit of the 1.6GW Yeramarus Thermal Power Station (TPS) in the Indian state of Karnataka has commenced commercial operations.

Developed by the Raichur Power Corporation (RPCL), the thermal power plant is located in Raichur district. RPCL, which is also the owner and operator of the plant, is a joint venture of Bharat Heavy Electricals (BHEL) and Karnataka Power Corporation (KPCL).

The commercial operations of the first 800MW supercritical unit began in mid March.

BHEL carried out the tasks of the Yeramarus supercritical project’s complete design, engineering, manufacture, supply, installation and commissioning on turnkey basis.

The India’s state-owned engineering company had supplied all the key equipment for the thermal power project including boiler, turbine and generators, electrical along with critical packages of balance for it. BHEL had also undertaken the related civil works.

Construction of the Yeramarus supercritical project was handled by BHEL’s Power Sector- Southern Region. On the other hand, manufacturing of the major equipment for the plant was carried out at its Trichy, Haridwar, Ranipet, Hyderabad, Bhopal, Jhansi, Bengaluru and Thirumayam facilities.

Earlier in the month, BHEL had commissioned a 500MW thermal power plant in the North Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Located in the Rae Bareli district, the plant is the sixth unit of the 1.5GW Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power Plant (FGUTPP).

The other five units of the coal-based thermal power plant, each of 210MW capacity were also commissioned by BHEL.

Last month, BHEL had commissioned a 250MW unit of the Bongaigaon Thermal Power Station (TPS) which is being built in Assam in northeast India.