Nine organisations from around the world have submitted bids to host a new centre that will support the transfer of clean technologies to developing nations.

The Climate Technology Centre (CTC) will be responsible for implementing the Technology Mechanism that was established at the UN Climate Change Conference in Cancun, Mexico, in 2010.

The nine organisations that have submitted bids include UN agencies, government bodies, businesses as well as civil societies, the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) said in a press release.

“I am impressed by the diverse array of organisations that want to play a key role in promoting clean and climate-safe technology,” said UNFCCC executive secretary Christiana Figueres, the UN’s top climate change official. “This enthusiasm is encouraging and bodes well for the success of the entire Technology Mechanism, which has the potential to be a central pillar of support for developing country action on climate change.”

The technology mechanism is designed to stimulate technology cooperation and to enhance the development and transfer of technologies to developing countries to support their sustainable development. At last year’s UN Climate Change Conference in Durban, South Africa, governments asked the UNFCCC secretariat to issue a call for proposals for the CTC host.

Among the proponents are Indonesia’s Agency for the Assessment and Application of Technology, the Instituto Tecnologico de Costa Rica, China’s South-South Global Assets and Technology Exchange, and the Washington D. C.-based Global Environment Facility.

The UNFCCC says it will draw up a short list of five in April. These bids will then be considered by governments at the UN’s next Climate Change Conference in Bonn in May 2012.

Bids for hosting the CTC were also submitted by the International Clean Energy Partnership Association, based in Germany, India’s Technology Information Forecasting and Assessment Council, Norway’s Det Norske Veritas, The Research Institute of Petroleum Industry of Iran, and a consortium led by the UN Environment Programme.