The company will also focus on developing power grid projects to ensure energy security and improve the quality of power distribution.

To meet power demand which is forecast to increase by 14% to 15% in 2010 over 2009, the company will strive to operate new power sources totaling 2,300 MW, including the first turbine of the Son La Hydropower plant, the Srepok 3 hydropower plant and the Quang Ninh 2 and Hai Phong 2 thermal power plants.