Twelve European Union member states have signed a statement setting out their belief that nuclear energy can play a part of the EU's future low-carbon energy mix.

The countries that signed the agreement were Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Hungary, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain and the UK

They committed to collaboration on safety and creating greater certainty for investors in low carbon infrastructure projects.

They also agreed, according to a Department of Energy and Climate Change statement, that signatories should "continue to be free to determine their own energy mixes" and to press ahead with their decarbonisation objectives through the deployment of the "fullest possible range" of low carbon technologies.