Norwegian power company Norsk Hydro will invest about $145.1m from 2011 to 2015 to upgrade the Rjukan hydropower system in Telemark, Norway.

The Rjukan power system comprises five power plants – Froystul, Vemork, Saheim, Moflat and Mæl – with a combined normal annual capacity of approximately 3TWh or about 30% of Norsk Hydro’s normal annual hydropower production.

The planned work will consist of upgrading of the waterways, including a new dam at Skarfoss, new control systems and power distribution, as well as rehabilitating generators and turbines.

The work will start in 2011 and is planned to be completed in 2015, and the investments will be distributed over the same four-year period.

Activities requiring total shutdown of all five power plants will be executed in two outage periods of about 16 weeks each, in 2012 and 2014.